• Water treatment by heterogeneous catalysis

  • Purification of air by heterogeneous catalysis

  • Advanced Oxidation Fluid Treatment

Learn More

 


THE COMPANY


Lumina Environnement is a innovative high-tech start-up company issued from the “Photocat” project, award winner of various innovation contests (e.g. Bpifrance), specialized in the development and the production of photocatalytic media, custom fluid treatment systems, and related services for air purification and water treatment.


Lumina Environnement: patented advanced technology and proven effectiveness in collaboration with the Ecole des Mines d’Alès and other external organizations

Excellency

Lumina Environnement is the winner of numerous innovation competitions

Innovation

Lumina Environnement is at the forefront of scientific research

Quality

Our main concern: quality assurance and customer satisfaction

OUR TECHNOLOGY

Heterogeneous Photocatalysis

Heterogeneous photocatalysis

Heterogeneous photocatalysis, commonly known as photocatalysis, is a new emerging technology that uses light (photo) to trigger a catalysis reaction.
Photocatalysis has various practical applications ranging from the environment to the energy field: water treatment, air purification, hydrogen production (H2) by the water splitting process, chemical synthesis, elaboration of germicidal, self-cleaning or hydrophilic surfaces, and so on.


Lumina Environnement specializes in the environmental applications of heterogeneous photocatalysis: air purification and water treatment.
Heterogeneous photocatalysis is one of the advanced oxidation processes that are used more and more frequently nowadays for fluid treatment.


The operating principle is simple. Under the action of light, a semiconductor acting as a catalyst is capable of generating an extremely powerful reactive species, the hydroxyl radical, OH°. Its standard redox potential is 2.8V at 25°C and it generally reacts at least one million times faster than ozone or hydrogen peroxide.
This oxidant is capable of carrying out the total and non-selective oxidation (oxidation of most of the organic compounds up to their complete mineralization into carbon dioxide and water) of chemical pollutants and microorganisms at ambient temperature and pressure without the use chemicals and with reduced operating costs.


Photocatalysis by Lumina Environnement

Lumina Environnement reinvents photocatalysis both from the point of view of the photocatalytic media elaboration and from the point of view of the fluid treatment system design in order to develop the best photocatalytic system ever conceived.
The photocatalytic media is elaborated by an innovative in situ catalyst deposition method (patented) with a very accurate nanoscale morphology control. The catalyst deposition is made over a high specific surface area (450 m2/g) and UV transparent industrial ceramic.
The operating mode based on the gas-solid / liquid-solid fluidization imparts perfect reaction kinetics to the treatment devices through optimum contact with the pollutants to be treated and perfect light exposure of the photocatalytic media.

MAIN ADVANTAGES


 

Water treatment

Drinking water available for consumption accounts for only 1% of the total amount of water on the planet.

This same water is continually subjected to pollution originating mainly from human activities: 50% of agriculture (fertilizers, pesticides, medicines, etc.); 35% of domestic activities (cleaning products, pesticides, paint, drug residues, etc.); 15% of industry (discharge of hydrocarbons, acids, etc.).
Lack of access to water and sanitation is the leading cause of death in the world. Recent studies (2015) show that 663 million people in the world do not have adequate access to drinking water today, 2.4 billion people have no sanitation and 2.6 billion Billions of people do not have sanitary facilities. According to the WHO, 3.4 million people (especially children) die each year because of diseases transmitted by contaminated water.

Heterogeneous photocatalysis represents a pertinent solution to pollution control by water treatment. It allows efficient degradation of a very wide range of chemical pollutants such as pesticides, drugs, medicines, endocrine disruptors and / or carcinogens in very varied fields of activity such as:

 

  • Petrochemical industry
  • Wastewater / Reuse
  • Drinking water
  • Agriculture: pesticide removal, cattle drinking water, irrigation
  • High purity water
  • Recreational water: swimming pools, spa…
  • Fish farming water
  • Boat Water
  • Industrial Process Water
  • Community: rain water, tankers, wells…

AIR TREATMENT

Indoor air (homes, offices, medical…)

We drink 1.5 to 2 liters of water a day; We eat about 2 kg of food per day; We breathe 12,000 liters of air! We spend between 80% to 90% of our time indoors; Indoor air is 5 to 10 times more polluted than outdoor air.
LEARN MORE


Agrofood air

Cork taste removal, microbiological decontamination (bacteria, viruses, fungi, molds,…), fruits, vegetables and flower conservation, meat, fish, dairy products preservation, extension of the expiration and best before date.
LEARN MORE


Industrial air

VOC and odors reduction, achievement of the regulatory targets for classified installations, working environment air treatment.
LEARN MORE

Services

We accompany you in

AIR AND WATER QUALITY ANALYSIS

Lumina Environnement may also offer ancillary services : air and/or water quality monitoring of upstream for the sizing of treatment systems, and downstream in order to evaluate the effectiveness of the treatment.

METROLOGY – FLOWING FLUIDS / GAS FLOW

With extensive experience in the field of flow measurement, Lumina Environnement offers consulting and training services in metrology (gas flow metering) for companies concerned by gas flow measurement:

  • Flowmeter calibration
  • Metrological characterization of gas measuring and sampling devices
  • Accompaniment towards a flowmeter calibration accreditation process
  • Calibration bench set-up
  • Mass flow, volumetric flow
  • Flow measurement principles
  • Flow checking
  • Calibration certificate interpretation
  • Fluid properties
  • Influence of ambient parameters (pressure, relative humidity) on flow measurement
  • Measurement uncertainty
  • Best uncertainties…

Contact

A question? A proposal? An opportunity for collaboration or investment? Please feel free to use the below form to join us

• Traitement de l'eau par catalyse hétérogène

  • Purification de l'air par catalyse hétérogène

  • Traitement des fluides par oxydation avancée

En savoir plus



L’ENTREPRISE


Lumina Environnement est une entreprise high-tech issue du projet anciennement appelé “Photocat”, lauréat de plusieurs concours de l’innovation (ex. Bpifrance), spécialisée dans la conception et la production de média photocatalytique, des dispositifs de traitement de fluides sur mesure et dans des services connexes pour la purification de l’air et le traitement de l’eau.


Lumina Environnement utilise une technologie innovante brevetée, dont son efficacité à été prouvée par des tests de plusieurs pilotes dans les laboratoires de l’École des Mines et autres organismes externes.

Excellence

Lumina Environnement est lauréat de nombreux concours d’innovation

Innovation

Lumina Environnement est à la pointe de la recherche scientifique

Qualité

Notre préoccupation majeure : l’assurance de la qualité et la satisfaction client

NOTRE TECHNOLOGIE

Photocatalyse hétérogène

La photocatalyse hétérogène

La photocatalyse hétérogène, communément appelée photocatalyse est une nouvelle technologie émergente qui utilise la lumière pour déclencher une réaction de catalyse.
La photocatalyse retrouve des nombreuses applications très pratiques allant du domaine de l’environnement et jusqu’au domaine des énergies : traitement de l’eau, purification de l’air, production d’hydrogène (H2) par le procédé «water splitting», synthèse chimique, élaboration des surfaces germicides, autonettoyantes ou hydrophiles,… Lumina Environnement est spécialisée dans les applications environnementales de la photocatalyse hétérogène : purification de l’air et traitement de l’eau.

La photocatalyse hétérogène fait partie des procédées d’oxydation avancées qui sont utilisés de plus en plus souvent pour le traitement des fluides.
Son principe de fonctionnement est simple. Sous l’action de la lumière, un semi-conducteur jouant le rôle de catalyseur est capable de générer une espèce réactive extrêmement puissante, le radical hydroxyle, OH°. Son potentiel standard d’oxydoréduction s’élève à 2,8V à 25°C et il réagit générale­ment au moins un million de fois plus vite que l’ozone ou le peroxyde d’hydrogène.
Cet oxydant est capable de réaliser l’oxydation totale (jusqu’à leur minéralisation complète en dioxyde de carbone et eau) et non-sélective (oxydation de la plupart des composés organiques) des polluants chimiques et microorganismes à température et pression ambiante, sans utilisation de produits chimiques et avec des coûts réduits de fonctionnement.


La photocatalyse selon Lumina Environnement

Lumina Environnement réinvente la photocatalyse à la fois du point de vue de l’élaboration du média photocatalytique et du point de vue de la conception des dispositifs de traitement dans le but de développer le meilleur système photocatalytique jamais conçu.
Le média photocatalytique est élaboré par une méthode innovante de dépôt de catalyseur in situ (brevetée), avec un contrôle de pointe de la morphologie à l’échelle nanométrique. Le dépôt est réalisé sur une céramique industrielle transparente aux UV et ayant une très grande surface spécifique (de l’ordre de 450 m2/g).
Le mode de fonctionnement basé sur la fluidisation gaz-solide / liquide-solide confère aux dispositifs de traitement une cinétique de réaction parfaite grâce à une mise en contact avec les polluants et à une exposition à la lumière optimales du média photocatalytique.

PRINCIPAUX AVANTAGES


 

Traitement de l'eau

L’eau potable disponible pour la consommation représente seulement 1% de la quantité totale d’eau de la planète.

Cette même eau est continuellement soumise à une pollution provenant essentiellement des activités humaines : 50 % de l’agriculture (engrais, pesticides, médicaments,…) ; 35% des activités domestiques (produits de nettoyage, pesticides, peinture, résidus de médicaments,…) ; 15 % de l’industrie (rejet des hydrocarbures, des acides, etc.).
Le manque d’accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement est la première cause de mortalité dans le monde. Des études récentes (2015) montrent que 663 millions de personnes dans le monde n’ont pas un accès convenable à l’eau potable aujourd’hui, 2,4 milliards de personnes ne disposent d’aucun système d’assainissement et 2,6 milliards de personnes ne disposent pas de sanitaires. Selon l’OMS, 3,4 millions de personnes (notamment des enfants) décèdent chaque année à cause des maladies transmises par de l’eau contaminée.
La photocatalyse hétérogène représente une solution pertinente de lutte contre la pollution de l’eau par traitement de l’eau. Elle permet de dégrader de manière très efficace une très large gamme de polluants chimiques tel que des hydrocarbures, des pesticides, des médicaments, des médicaments, des perturbateurs endocriniens et/ou cancérogènes dans de domaines d’activité très variés tel que :

  • Industries pétrolières et pétrochimiques
  • Eaux usées / Réutilisation
  • Potabilisation
  • Agriculture: eau potable animaux, irrigation, élimination des pesticides
  • Eau de haute pureté
  • Eau récréative (piscines, spa …)
  • Pisciculture
  • Eau du bateau
  • Traitement industriel des eaux usées
  • Communauté: eau de pluie, citernes, puits

PURIFICATION DE L'AIR

L’air intérieur (habitations, bureaux, médical, …)

Nous buvons 1,5 à 2 litre d’eau par jour. Nous mangeons environ 2 kg de nourriture par jour.
Nous respirons 12 000 litres d’air ! Nous passons entre 80 % à 90 % de notre temps à l’intérieur. L’air intérieur est 5 à 10 fois plus pollué que l’air extérieur.

EN SAVOIR PLUS


L’air dans le secteur agroalimentaire

Élimination du goût de bouchon, décontamination microbiologique (bactéries, virus, champignons, moisissures), conservation de fruits, légumes et fleurs, conservation de viande, poisson, produits laitiers, prolongation DLC et DLUO.
EN SAVOIR PLUS


L’air industriel

Réduction des émissions de COV et des odeurs, atteindre les objectifs réglementaires pour les installations classées pour la protection de l’environnement, traitement de l’air dans les ambiances de travail.
EN SAVOIR PLUS

Services

Nous vous accompagnons dans

ANALYSE DE LA QUALITÉ DE L’AIR ET DE L’EAU

Lumina Environnement peut proposer également des services annexes au traitement, audit de la qualité de l’air et/ou de l’eau en amont, en vue du dimensionnement des systèmes de traitement, et en aval afin d’évaluer l’efficacité du traitement. 

MÉTROLOGIE

Forte d’une importante expérience dans le domaine de la mesure du débit, Lumina Environnement offre des services de conseil et de formation en métrologie (débitmétrie gazeuse) pour les entreprises concernés par la mesure du débit de gaz :

  • Etalonnage en débitmétrie ;
  • Caractérisation métrologique de dispositifs de mesure et de prélèvement de gaz ;
  • Accompagnement vers une démarche d’accréditation COFRAC ;
  • Mise en place banc d’étalonnage ;
  • Débit massique, débit volumique ;
  • Principes de mesure du débit ;
  • Vérification débit ;
  • Exploitation des certificats d’étalonnage;
  • Propriétés de fluides ;
  • Influence des paramètres ambiants (température pression, humidité relative) sur la mesure du débit ;
  • Incertitude de mesure ;
  • Meilleures incertitudes…

Contact

Une question ? Une proposition ? Une possibilité de collaboration ou d’investissement? Merci d’utiliser le formulaire ci-joint pour nous joindre